My Story Living With Sleep Apnea

It sucks, but you can live with it

Brian Lamacraft
4 min readAug 19, 2019
Credit: Freestocks.org on Unsplash

I hate that mask sometimes. It wakes me up at night, and I want to pull the hose out and throw the damn thing on the floor. This mask I now have to live with to control my sleep apnea. It covers my nose, and I have to keep my mouth shut at night while cold air assaults my nostrils. Oh, the endless joy. Here is my experience with sleep apnea. I hope It will help you if you have the condition, too.

Why Am I So Damn Tired?

A couple of years ago, I noticed that I was always tired. I don’t mean just sleepy but falling tired even after a full night’s sleep. I could barely get through my morning coffee without wanting to have a nap. More coffee made me feel better for a while, but it never lasted. By two o’clock, I couldn’t keep my eyes open and could feel my crankiness levels reaching the stratosphere.

I would often fall asleep on the couch by dinner time and often with my phone or remote in my hand.

After dinner, I was as good as done and would usually want to sleep around 6 or maybe seven. I could sleep 10–12 hours and still make up for tired. I would go to the bar, have a beer, and want to take a nap. My wife would hurl pillows at me and tell me to…

--

--

Brian Lamacraft

Brian is an online writer and blogger. In his spare time, he plays guitar and goes camping.